Tag Archives: 2013 release

Audiobook Review: The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Continue reading

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Audiobook, Reviews

Waiting on Wednesday: Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always by Elissa Janine Hoole

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

Sometimes NeverTitle: Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always

Autor: Elissa Janine Hoole

Publisher: Flux

Release Date: November 8, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)

Cassandra fears rocking the family boat. Instead, she sinks it. Assigned by her English teacher to write a poem that reveals her true self, Cassandra Randall is stuck. Her family’s religion is so overbearing, she can NEVER write about who she truly is. So Cass does what any self-respecting high school girl would do: she secretly begins writing a tarot-inspired advice blog. When Drew Godfrey, an awkward outcast with unwashed hair, writes to her, the situation spirals into what the school calls “a cyberbullying crisis” and what the church calls “sorcery.” Cass wants to be the kind of person who sticks up for the persecuted, who protects the victims the way she tries to protect her brother from the homophobes in her church. But what if she’s just another bully? What will it take for her to step up and tell the truth?
This sounds like an interesting story about rebellion. I can’t wait to get to know Cassandra and learn who she REALLY is. I already feel sorry for her not being able to express who she really is and for having to stick up for her brother from being bullied.

Leave a comment

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: Twigs by Alison Ashley Formento

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.


TwigsTitle: Twigs

Autor: Alison Ashley Formento

Publisher: Merit Press

Release Date: September 18, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)

They call her “Twigs,” because she’ll never hit five feet tall. Although she was born early, and a stiff breeze could knock her over, Twigs has a mighty spirit. She needs it, as life throws a whole bucket of rotten luck at her: Dad’s an absentee drunk; Mom’s obsessed with her new deaf boyfriend (and Twigs can’t tell what they’re saying to each other). Little sister Marlee is trying to date her way through the entire high school; Twigs’ true love may be a long-distance loser after a single week away at college, and suddenly, older brother Matt is missing in Iraq. It all comes together when a couple of thugs in a drugstore aisle lash out, and Twigs must fight to save the life of the father who denied her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

Student Review by Alex H.: Prodigy by Marie Lu

ProdigyTitle: Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend #2

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Published: January 29, 2013

Alex’s Summary: Marie Lu has the two characters, June and Day, working alongside each other to rescue his captured brother. Just a while back his mother had just been killed by the Republic as a way to capture him. This was before June would decide to go on Day’s side. With Day captured June thinks everything is done yet the truth behind the Republic begins to unravel and she goes against everything to join Day’s side. Now traveling in Las Vegas on the run, they will join the Patriot rebels and attempt to save Day’s brother and reunite the country that once was. But the unthinkable happens, the Elector Primo dies and his successor will spell disaster if nothing is done to suppress the chaos that follows. With a compelling story just like its predecessor, Prodigy will immerse you into a story that is filled with mystery, suspense, thrills, and love.

Alex’s Review: After reading Legend, the open ending at the end of the book just compelled me to want to read the sequel. I wanted all the questions to be answered, what would happen after everything that has happened? Who would die and who would live? The questions just kept coming but because of all those questions, I congratulate Marie Lu. She has written a story so compelling that you won’t want to put it down. Everything about it just makes the book readable. I love the way she uses the questions that readers might possess at that time and answer them in a variety of ways. Ways that may surprise the reader. The way the events play out is easy to follow and I was left with little questions about why this happened or why this character did this. There is nothing I can say about the book and Marie Lu that I would have changed. It’s just that good. It keeps you on your heels, holding a mystery around every corner and the suspense forces you to keep going. The 3rd and final book of this series, Champion, will have me itching for what Marie Lu has in store for the epic finale. I would love to see a country unified now into one country. I would love to see her continue using the format she’s been using to keep me reading the books and always wanting more. I want the ending to be something worth remembering as the series comes to an epic closing. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Student Review

Waiting on Wednesday: Champion by Marie Lu

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

This book is the perfect choice this week as one of my students has submitted reviews for both  Legend and Prodigy that I will post over the next two days. We can’t wait for November!

champion.inddTitle: Champion

Autor: Marie Lu

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Release Date: November 5, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion

Leave a comment

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

Review (Audiobook): Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike

Life After TheftTitle: Life After Theft

Author: Aprilynne Pike

Publisher: Harper Teen

Published: April 20, 2013

Source: Purchased from Audible.com

Summary (from Goodreads): Moving to a new high school sucks. Especially a rich-kid private school. With uniforms. But nothing is worse than finding out the first girl you meet is dead. And a klepto.

No one can see or hear Kimberlee except Jeff, so–in hopes of bringing an end to the snarkiest haunting in history–he agrees to help her complete her “unfinished business.” But when the enmity between Kimberlee and Jeff’s new crush, Sera, manages to continue posthumously, Jeff wonders if he’s made the right choice.

Clash meets sass in this uproarious modern-day retelling of Baroness Orczy’s The Scarlet Pimpernel.

Review: I found myself making excuses to drive around so I could listen to this book. Jeff and Kimberlee are unforgettable characters. Jeff is likable even though he drives a nicer car than I would ever dream of. But all joking aside, Jeff is well-developed character who has a big heart. It’s frustrating at times to see (or in my case, hear) him get bulldozed by Kimberlee but he always finds a way to hold his own.

It was ironic that the day that I finished this book, Six Sense was on tv because when I originally read the summary, that is what immediately came to mind. However, any time seeing dead people is brought up that’s usually where my mind goes. But this book is much more than seeing a dead girl. Each character who is introduced has a complex story that is tangled up in Kimberlee’s pre-death antics which makes for great twists and turns in the plot. It is also much more light-hearted than most “ghost stories.” There are some really funny scenes. The dialogue in this book is fantastic. Play the dead card quote

The only part of the audiobook that I didn’t enjoy (which had nothing to do with the story) was the voice that Jesse Bernstein did for Kyle. It was a little too cliche for my taste. In addition, I found it difficult to not laugh at the horrible accent for Officer Herrera. I really enjoyed Berstein’s reading of The Tragedy Paper, so I was a little disappointed when he read these two characters’ parts. Despite that, I would highly recommend the audiobook. The witty comments and hilarious banter is just too good to not have it performed for you.

I only wish that it would be available in print and not just e-book and audiobook so I could purchase it for the Bookshelves of Room 918.

Leave a comment

Filed under Audiobook, Reviews

Waiting on Wednesday: Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

 Wild AwakeTitle: Wild Awake

Autor: Hilary T. Smith

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: May 28, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)

1. You will remember to water the azaleas.
2. You will take detailed, accurate messages.
3. You will call your older brother, Denny, if even the slightest thing goes wrong.
4. You and your best friend/bandmate Lukas will win Battle of the Bands.
5. Amid the thrill of victory, Lukas will finally realize you are the girl of his dreams.

Things that actually happen:

1. A stranger calls who says he knew your sister.
2. He says he has her stuff.
3. What stuff? Her stuff.
4. You tell him your parents won’t be able to—
5. Sukey died five years ago; can’t he—
6. You pick up a pen.
7. You scribble down the address.
8. You get on your bike and go.
9. Things . . . get a little crazy after that.*
*also, you fall in love, but not with Lukas.

Both exhilarating and wrenching, Hilary T. Smith’s debut novel captures the messy glory of being alive, as seventeen-year-old Kiri Byrd discovers love, loss, chaos, and murder woven into a summer of music, madness, piercing heartbreak, and intoxicating joy.

I can’t wait for this book to hit stores. I’ve been hearing such great things about it. Plus, I love the cover!

Leave a comment

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday