Tag Archives: Marie Lu

Student Review by Alex H.: Prodigy by Marie Lu

ProdigyTitle: Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend #2

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Published: January 29, 2013

Alex’s Summary: Marie Lu has the two characters, June and Day, working alongside each other to rescue his captured brother. Just a while back his mother had just been killed by the Republic as a way to capture him. This was before June would decide to go on Day’s side. With Day captured June thinks everything is done yet the truth behind the Republic begins to unravel and she goes against everything to join Day’s side. Now traveling in Las Vegas on the run, they will join the Patriot rebels and attempt to save Day’s brother and reunite the country that once was. But the unthinkable happens, the Elector Primo dies and his successor will spell disaster if nothing is done to suppress the chaos that follows. With a compelling story just like its predecessor, Prodigy will immerse you into a story that is filled with mystery, suspense, thrills, and love.

Alex’s Review: After reading Legend, the open ending at the end of the book just compelled me to want to read the sequel. I wanted all the questions to be answered, what would happen after everything that has happened? Who would die and who would live? The questions just kept coming but because of all those questions, I congratulate Marie Lu. She has written a story so compelling that you won’t want to put it down. Everything about it just makes the book readable. I love the way she uses the questions that readers might possess at that time and answer them in a variety of ways. Ways that may surprise the reader. The way the events play out is easy to follow and I was left with little questions about why this happened or why this character did this. There is nothing I can say about the book and Marie Lu that I would have changed. It’s just that good. It keeps you on your heels, holding a mystery around every corner and the suspense forces you to keep going. The 3rd and final book of this series, Champion, will have me itching for what Marie Lu has in store for the epic finale. I would love to see a country unified now into one country. I would love to see her continue using the format she’s been using to keep me reading the books and always wanting more. I want the ending to be something worth remembering as the series comes to an epic closing. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Student Review

Student Review by Alex H.: Legend by Marie Lu

LegendTitle: Legend

Series: Legend #1

Author: Marie Lu

Published: November 29, 2011

Alex’s Summary: Legend. Bringing together all that a person knows of the United States and flip-flopping it turning the goodness we call home into ravaged countries called the Republic and the Colonies respectively. These two countries used to be together, bound by the people, the United States of America. I guess you can say it’s another Civil War. Set in Los Angeles, California, Legend brings together two opposite beings from two separate worlds. One whom we call June, lives in a luxurious apartment with her brother Metias in a more up kept part of Los Angeles. Taking a trip to the outskirts where the upkeep is not as sustained, people live in shabby yet livable houses. This is where Day comes in, a wanted criminal even though he is supposedly dead. Helping his family get through harsh times he lives and sleeps in falling apart buildings that are a result of the flooding while taking of a girl named Tess. Keeping you on your heels, Day soon meets June in unimaginable circumstances. But when Junes meets him, everything she’s ever been taught to do and learned about the Republic changes, as it twists and turns to create a story that’s filled with thrills, chills, love, and suspense.

Alex’s Review: The twists and turns is what caused me to love this book and its sequel, Prodigy. After reading it I feel very alive. My adrenaline kicks in as a part of this story begins to get suspenseful and thrilling. Add in all the action and it keeps you on your toes. Not knowing what’s to come you just want to keep reading to uncover that mystery. But uncovering it leads to more questions and that’s what drove me to keep reading Legend. It brings together everything that a person can love. The action, the love story, and the unpredictable storyline ties it all together to bring a story and book worth reading over and over again. After reading, I felt as if I was satisfied with all that Marie Lu had written. I wish I could say that there were “errors” in the book but from what I read, the book just seemed to keep me going with little questioning about why this happened, where this character came from, etc. I would love to go really in depth about what this is all about but that’s just going to spoil it for you. I’ll let you know that if you do read this book, go and read Prodigy too! You’ll love both books.

1 Comment

Filed under Student Review

Waiting on Wednesday: Champion by Marie Lu

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

This book is the perfect choice this week as one of my students has submitted reviews for both  Legend and Prodigy that I will post over the next two days. We can’t wait for November!

champion.inddTitle: Champion

Autor: Marie Lu

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Release Date: November 5, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion

Leave a comment

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday